PDA

View Full Version : Carb and intake for cowl hood

1st_chevelle
08-28-2012, 01:41 PM
Well there comes a time in one's life when he needs a new carb and intake. That time is now. Or even sooner if I can find some tnt and send that damn rochester carb to the moon. I got a 468BB stuck with one of those and it's killing my performance. It feels like it's barely making 150HP when I know it's capable of at least 400HP and more. Anybody have a good combo that works with a cowl hood or at least point me in the right direction? Thanks for your time and consideration.

shadowgray396
08-29-2012, 08:07 PM
Not knowing more details on the motor you probably will need at least a 700 to 750 cfm carb. It depends how your motor is built. I'm no expert in this area so I hope someone else will chim in for you. What cam are you running, compression, etc?

1st_chevelle
08-30-2012, 10:15 AM
I'll have to get a hold of the motor guy but it's a stock reground cam and compression is 10:1. A really great shot (Greer Performance) recommended that a 750 should suit it just fine. Don't need a double pumper or anything just a 750 and intake manifold that works with it.

carpoor
08-30-2012, 01:42 PM
A 750 tuned right will suit the needs of 98% of all applications. Many of my friends with big inch LS-based engines run a 750. A few have tried bigger carbs - with lackluster results. One of the slower cars runs mid 10's on drag radials, through the mufflers.

I would think an Edelbrock performer RPM, Weiand Stealth, or something of the like will feed your engine plenty of air.

Hank70SS
08-30-2012, 04:31 PM
Agree, a 750 or 770 (Holley's new carbs are 770's) would be good unless it's a very high reving 468 and used for mostly racing. Check the Holley and Edlebrock websites. They'll tell you what size carb based on the basics of the engine and how it's used, street, street/strip or strip only.

jpekarek
08-31-2012, 01:43 PM