PDA

View Full Version : Looking At A Chevelle: Need Help

ParkwayDrive
11-07-2011, 03:56 PM
How's it going guys? The name is Steve and I just got out of the Army (stationed at Fort Drum, NY) and moved home to Cali. I've always wanted a Chevelle and put it off while I was in the Army until I moved home. Now that I'm out I have the money and time to get the car I've always wanted. I found one very close to me that I'm going to look at this weekend. I don't want to do a full restore, just clean it up and possibly put a larger engine in it.

Here's the link: http://sfbay.craigslist.org/scz/cto/2681711675.html

I'm not an expert on Chevelles so I have a few questions. Are those after market seats? The dash doesn't look like a normal 70's I'm used to is. Is this a Malibu? Obviously hard to tell from the pictures but it doesn't look like it has the staple shifter. And lasty what would you suggest I offer him? I'm thinking of bringing cash when I go and if the rest is straight offer 8,500.

Any help would be great guys, thanks.

grandsport
11-07-2011, 05:17 PM
How's it going guys? The name is Steve and I just got out of the Army (stationed at Fort Drum, NY) and moved home to Cali. I've always wanted a Chevelle and put it off while I was in the Army until I moved home. Now that I'm out I have the money and time to get the car I've always wanted. I found one very close to me that I'm going to look at this weekend. I don't want to do a full restore, just clean it up and possibly put a larger engine in it.

Here's the link: http://sfbay.craigslist.org/scz/cto/2681711675.html

I'm not an expert on Chevelles so I have a few questions. Are those after market seats? The dash doesn't look like a normal 70's I'm used to is. Is this a Malibu? Obviously hard to tell from the pictures but it doesn't look like it has the staple shifter. And lasty what would you suggest I offer him? I'm thinking of bringing cash when I go and if the rest is straight offer 8,500.