PDA

View Full Version : Trannsission to bolt up to 454?

Dunbeck92
10-19-2011, 11:57 PM
Hi, I want to eventually restore a 71 ss and put a 454 big block in it. Im not new to cars but I'm not a gearhead. I would like to eventually become one though haha. I would like to know what kind of transmission would he best to bolt up to a 454. Also could I put a 5 speed in it or is 4 better? I'm going to use it on the street and sone casual drag so something that is kind of in between I guess you could say? I hope I have enough info here. Thanks everybody!

shadowgray396
10-20-2011, 08:26 AM
First off welcome to the site. I'm not a transmission expert so I will let the guys who are answer your question. I wouldn't go with anything less then a built turbo 400 in it, but there other transmissions out there that would better for your application depending on how much horsepower you are going to run.

Ray

Dunbeck92
10-20-2011, 08:39 AM
Thanks for the tip Ray. Would it be worth finding one that's beat up and rebuilding it? Or to get a new one? And what are some trusted brands? My father has always has B&M hydros in his restorations. Any take on that?

SS Shaun
10-20-2011, 11:52 AM
easy way to answer this is how deep are your pockets and how much cutting do you want to do :) if you are talking manual trans i can help you with that auto trans no clue. i can tell you that you can use a 4 speed which is meant for the car. 5 speed i wouldnt do it unless you are going to have a fully built one to handle the tq. a lot of guys on our rx7 forum put 5 speed manuals behind high powered small blocks and LS1's and they blow them to pieces. A t56 out of a camaro/firebird/corvette with the LT1 motor in it will bolt on and be perfect because they are strong and have 2 over drives BUT you have to cut your trans tunnel like so
http://i59.photobucket.com/albums/g303/stealth71/DSC01628.jpg
enjoy!!

Hank70SS
10-20-2011, 04:23 PM