PDA

View Full Version : Please help gf is mad

Saskuatch83
07-25-2010, 10:46 PM
Hello, so after a successful day working on the car i decided to hook up the tach. I found some directions online, here is what i did.....

Ran black wire from battery, hooked to tach
Green wire to distributor
Spliced into red wire from ignition harness and hooked to tach

and viola the car wont start, everything has power, radio horn lights etc but wont turn over.... Please any input would be greatly appreciated, also please be specific because im new at this stuff .. thanks!

Ms Grumpy
07-26-2010, 02:35 PM
I am not sure. Am trying to find the answer for you. But I know someone else will beat me to it.

Derek69SS
07-26-2010, 03:10 PM
Won't crank, or won't fire? Seems really odd if it won't crank... :confused:

If it cranks, but won't fire, I'd be looking at the distributor to make sure you didn't unhook something important there when you were hooking up the tach.

Hank70SS
07-26-2010, 03:55 PM
Black wire to battery? Black wire is typically ground, if you wired to negative post on battery that's good. Could also connect to any good ground under the dash. Green to distributor, tach terminal on HEI or negative on coil of points system. Red wire to anything hot when car is in run, their is a IGN connection in fuse block that is a good point.

You didn't mention what type car, year, type of ignition and type of tach so I'm making some assumptions that may not be correct.

grandsport
07-26-2010, 04:27 PM
Is your girl friend still mad?

Highway Star
07-26-2010, 11:50 PM
Sounds like Hank has you covered. Good post as usual, Hank. ;)

Saskuatch83
07-27-2010, 02:46 AM
Sorry, 72 chevelle, not sure of ignition, some cheap tach that came with car.... I dunno i checked voltages, no voltage when ignition is turned no voltage between ground and reg ign wire. Car wont even turn over grrrr. I have it booked to b looked at on wednesday so we will see.

Highway Star
07-27-2010, 10:07 AM